ITART Review Countries

The International Travel Advisory and Response Team (ITART) reviews the security situation in all travel warning countries in place by the US Department of State and additional countries designated by our emergency insurance provider (Frontier Medex) of high risk. All students (undergraduates and graduate students) who have plans to travel to any of these destinations are required to submit their travel plans for review to the ITART committee. A link to begin ITART review process is below. The links below will take you to the Cornell University Travel portal at Fronteir MedEx's website. You may use your NetID to log into their system. 
A country is put on the ITART review list when: The likelihood that security issues could physically impact individuals and organizations is elevated. Incidents such as armed robbery, carjacking, civil unrest, terrorism and/or extremist activity can occur frequently in such countries. Political instability and ineffective governance may compound security and business concerns. Travelers should take extra care to guard against threats to personnel and/or facilities in these locations. Some of these countries are affected by rampant violent crime, volatile situations of civil unrest, frequent terrorist and/or extremist attacks. There may be armed conflict within or across national borders. If travel or business is undertaken in these areas, extreme vigilance is required.

All countries listed below fall under the ITART review process. Any student who is proposing Cornell business travel (in which money or credit will follow them to the country) must attain ITART approval before departure. All decisions by ITART are final. Please allow 6-8 week for decisions to be processed.


List of ITART Review Countries:Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Cote D'Ivoire, Congo: The Democratic Republic of, Congo: Republic of, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya Mali, Mauritania, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Timor Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe

*connotes recently added